Oh, Doesn’t He?

June 18th, 2010

 “He doesn’t speak for me,” says GOP House Dept. Whip Marsha Blackburn on U.S. Rep. Joe Barton’s Asinine Apology to BP

Oh, Doesn’t He?


The U.S. House ‘Republican Study Committee’ -- Of Which Blackburn, Barton and 112 Other Republicans Are Members -- Said Virtually the Same Thing the Day Before!


Watch Blackburn Frantically Try to Distance Self, GOP Colleagues From Barton’s Gushing BP Apology:



From MSNBC today:


MSNBC’s Savannah Guthrie:“I do want to ask you, do you agree with your colleague, Congressman Barton’s basic concept that the Obama administration is “shaking down” BP and has used heavy handed tactics?


U.S. Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN).“No, I do not agree with Congressman Barton on that. And as I said earlier, he said he was speaking for himself and not for the Republicans on the Committee and he wasn't speaking for me.”


In Actuality, Barton Was Speaking for at Least 114 House Republicans, Including Blackburn

See Congressman Barton’s apology to BP CEO Tony Hayward after President Obamalaudably secured $20 billion escrow fund from BP for Gulf Coast oil spill victims:

"I am ashamed of what happened in the White House yesterday, that a private corporation would be subject to what I would characterize as a shake down," said Barton. The fund, he said, "amounts to a $20 billion slush fund that is unprecedented in our nation's history" and "sets a terrible precedent for the future.  I apologize…I do not want to live in a country where any time a citizen or a corporation does something that is legitimately wrong it is subject to political pressure that amounts to a shake down.”


See public statement the Republican Study Committee, of which Blackburn is a Member, issued the day before, delivering the same disturbing criticism of the administration-negotiated compensation to oil spill victims from BP:


“BP’s reported willingness to go along with the White House’s new fund suggests that the Obama Administration is hard at work exerting its brand of Chicago-style shakedown politics.”


See list of all members of Republican Study Committee below… [And in case you missed it, click here see new web video from Americans United for Change, “So Sorry”:]



Robert Aderholt


Todd Akin


Rodney Alexander


Steve Austria


Michele Bachmann


Spencer Bachus


J.Gresham Barrett


Roscoe Bartlett


Joe Barton


Brian Bilbray


Gus Bilirakis        


Rob Bishop


Marsha Blackburn


Jo Bonner


John Boozman


Kevin Brady


Paul Broun


Henry Brown


Vern Buchanan


Michael Burgess


Dan Burton


Dave Camp


John Campbell


Eric Cantor


John Carter


Bill Cassidy


Jason Chaffetz


Howard Coble        


Mike Coffman


Tom Cole


Michael Conaway


John Culberson


Geoff Davis


Mary Fallin


Jeff Flake


John Fleming


Randy Forbes


Jeff Fortenberry


Virginia Foxx


Trent Franks


Scott Garrett


Phil Gingrey


Louie Gohmert


Bob Goodlatte


Kay Granger  


Sam Graves


Parker Griffith    


Brett Guthrie


Ralph Hall   


Gregg Harper


Jeb Hensarling


Wally Herger


Pete Hoekstra


Duncan D. Hunter


Bob Inglis


Darrell Issa


Lynn Jenkins


Sam Johnson



Jim Jordan


Steve King


Jack Kingston


John Kline


Doug Lamborn


Robert Latta            


Christopher Lee


John Linder


Frank Lucas


Blaine Luetkemeyer


Cynthia Lummis


Dan Lungren


Connie Mack


Don Manzullo


Kenny Marchant


Michael McCaul


Tom McClintock


Thaddeus McCotter


Patrick McHenry


Buck McKeon


Cathy McMorris Rodgers


Gary Miller


Jeff Miller


Jerry Moran


Sue Myrick


Randy Neugebauer


Pete Olson


Mike Pence


Joe Pitts


Ted Poe


Bill Posey


Tom Price


George Radanovich


Denny Rehberg


Phil Roe


Tom Rooney


Peter Roskam


Ed Royce


Paul Ryan


Steve Scalise


Aaron Schock


Jean Schmidt


Pete Sessions


John Shadegg


John Shimkus


Lamar Smith


Cliff Stearns


John Sullivan


Glenn Thompson


Mac Thornberry


Todd Tiahrt


Mike Turner


Zach Wamp


Lynn Westmoreland


Joe Wilson


Robert Wittman